historic places

The National Register of Historic Places is the United State’s official list of the historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service’s National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America’s historic and archeological resources. More than 88,000 properties have been listed in the National Register. Together these records hold information on more than 1.4 million individual resources–buildings, sites, districts, structures, and objects.

These places include buildings – government, commercial and personal, as well as monuments and the sites of historic events.

  • Golden Gate Bridge

Other countries have similar list of historic places. Many of the places on these list are much older than the U.S. which is a relatively new country by world standards.

  • Great Britain
  • Germany
  • France